Prayer

Prayer is a funny thing.

It is a direct communication line to God – not that He necessarily needs us to get into a prayer posture to be able to hear us – but we need to get into a prayer posture in order for us to feel heard.

We are currently in the midst of a storm with friend’s of ours. A serious medical condition has turned their life a different direction than they had planned. Uncertainty and anxiety are ebbing away at them. The only closure to this medical issue was a risky surgery, it wasn’t convenient, it is dangerous, and the consequences are severe should it not go as planned.

I awoke this morning with the surgery heavy on my heart. I began to pray fervently that God’s blessing’s would be on the surgeons, that the couple’s hearts would be calm, their children be calmed. And then my anxiety addled brain began to think about the what-if’s:

“What if something goes wrong?”

“What if the bad outcome happens?”

“What if they are never the same?”

“What if the unimaginable happens and he doesn’t even make it through the surgery?”

And then I began to pray against my negative thoughts and pray that God be glorified and that only He would be shown through this situation and how much better would it be for God’s witness if things were to go well?

And that’s when God did one of those funny thing’s with my heart. After having been a Christian for 16 years (in August! Hey!), I’ve learned when God’s gentle rebukes are coming and a lesson is on the way.

God began to speak to my heart – The what-if’s are always a possibility. Things happen in life, everything is in God’s will.

God began to show me that when I pray, I’m always asking for things, and wanting things, and begging to change His mind about certain outcomes – but that’s not how God works. God isn’t a genie. He isn’t here to grant wishes. He doesn’t expect us to pray a certain way and then He will grant our desires. No. Prayer is much more than that. God’s understanding is more than that.

As I sat there feeling the stirrings, it became clear. I needed to pray that my will aligns with God’s in this situation. I’m still young and eager, and God is infinitely more wise than I am. God has this. God knows this situation. God knows these people. His will is perfect.

“For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” Jeremiah 29:11

And that verse ran through my mind two or three more times, and I began to change my attitude about how I was praying.

“God – align my will with yours. You are God of the universe and see our hearts and minds and I thank You for all You do in and through our lives. No matter how much we want to control the outcome.”

Leave a Reply

